27 Nigerian state lawmakers defect to opposition

27 Nigerian state lawmakers quitted the PDP for the opposition Alliance for the Progressive Congress.

27 Nigerian state lawmakers defect to opposition

World Bulletin / News Desk

Mass exodus from Nigeria's ruling People's Democratic Party (PDP) continued on Wednesday with 27 state lawmakers in the Northwest Sokoto State quitting the party for the opposition Alliance for the Progressive Congress (APC).

"Our decision is built in the crisis rocking the PDP and we took this step taking every law into cognizance," Sokoto House of Assembly spokesman Mallami Basakkwace told Anadolu Agency.

He said the defectors included the speaker and other principal members of the House leadership.

Sokoto Assembly has 30 members, meaning that only three lawmakers stayed back in the PDP.

"We have today formally joined our governor in the progressive APC," said Basakkwace.

Sokoto Governor Aliyu Wamakko was among five governors who had quit the ruling party in the twilight of last year following a crisis of confidence rocking the party that has governed Nigeria since 1999.

MP Basakkwace said their move followed intense pressure mounted on them from their constituencies.

"People of our constituencies were wondering what we were still doing in the dead PDP," he said.

"They wanted us to join their governor," he added.

The move came barely two weeks after 37 federal PDP parliamentarians took a similar step.

Nigeria has a bi-cameral federal legislature comprising the Senate and the House of the Representatives.

The 36 states each has a state assembly whose numerical strength is determined by the number of constituencies in each state.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 08 Ocak 2014, 17:30