Tunisia, Morocco call for activation of Maghreb Union

Founded in 1989, Arab Maghreb Union calls for unification - economic and political - of five Maghreb states

Tunisia, Morocco call for activation of Maghreb Union

World Bulletin / News Desk

Tunisian Parliament Speaker Mohamed al-Nasser on Thursday met Moroccan counterpart Habib al-Maliki to discuss “various issues of common concern," including the activation of the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU).

"We discussed several issues, not least of which was the AMU’s sought-for activation," al-Nasser told reporters in Tunis following the meeting.

"We are still committed to activating the union, which remains a desire for all the region’s people," he added. 

A major area of North Africa, the Maghreb region includes the countries of Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Libya and Mauritania.

According to al-Nasser, discussions between the two assembly speakers also tackled bilateral relations and “means of enhancing cooperation between our respective parliaments."

Al-Maliki, for his part, who arrived in Tunisia on Wednesday for a five-day visit, said: "Unification of the Maghreb states is a strategic choice, especially since we live in a time of globalization and regional blocs."

Formally established in 1989 in the Moroccan city of Marrakesh, the AMU envisions the eventual integration -- economic and political -- of the five Maghreb states.

Last Mod: 01 Mart 2018, 17:46
Add Comment