Hariri forms new Lebanon unity government

Lebanese PM Hariri formed a national unity government, the cabinet secretary announced.

Hariri forms new Lebanon unity government

Lebanese Prime Minister Saad Hariri formed a national unity government on Monday after more than four months of tough negotiations with his Hezbollah-led rivals, the cabinet secretary announced.

The new 30-member cabinet was made public in a decree signed by Hariri and President Michel Sleiman.

Hariri was meeting Suleiman at the presidential palace near Beirut. An official announcement of the 30-member cabinet was expected shortly.

Lebanon has been without a functioning government since Hariri led his coalition to victory in a June parliamentary election against Hezbollah and its allies.

Hariri has spent more than four months trying to broker a deal with the opposition to join a unity cabinet. A warming of ties between the two sides' main backers Syria and Saudi Arabia in recent weeks helped ease the rift in Beirut and led eventually to a power-sharing agreement.

The new 30-minister cabinet includes 15 ministers from Hariri's coalition, 10 from the opposition including two Hezbollah ministers, and five, including the key interior and defence portfolios, were appointed by President Suleiman.

Incumbents Ziad Baroud and Elias al-Murr, loyal to the president, kept their interior and defence portfolios, while new foreign and finance ministers were appointed, the officials said.


Güncelleme Tarihi: 10 Kasım 2009, 10:54