Russia to build four nuclear power plants by 2020

Russia will build four nuclear power stations in the central part of the country and in the Urals by 2020, an official document revealed on Wednesday.

Russia to build four nuclear power plants by 2020
The Russian government approved in February a general scheme for new nuclear build until 2020, to be reviewed approximately every three years. The document was published on Wednesday.

The scheme envisions that overall domestic demand for electricity will increase 4% per year, and outlines plans to construct at least four nuclear plants in the Tver, Nizhny Novgorod, Chelyabinsk and Yaroslavl or Kostroma regions.

Russia currently operates ten nuclear power plants with total capacity of 23.242 GW.

Under the base scenario, output from the nuclear sector will double by 2020 and output from hydroelectric stations will increase 60%.

At the same time, Russia will need to invest over $282 billion in the construction of power plants by 2015, and $204 billion in 2016-2020.

RIA Novosti

Güncelleme Tarihi: 13 Mart 2008, 11:42