UK gov't launches new immigration points system

UK government introduced a new immigration points regime on Friday in order to control the number of non-EU workers entering the country.

UK gov't launches new immigration points system
The much talked about measures are designed to make it more difficult for those with fewer or lower skills to enter Britain.

Applicants under the new system will be given points on their skills and to what extent they could benefit the economy.

The first stage of the five tier system, expected to be fully operational by the end of summer, will cover highly skilled individuals who can apply to come to Britain without any concrete job offers. They would be judged on their professional skills and educational qualifications.

"The introduction of our Australian-style points system will ensure that only those with skills the country needs can come to work and study," said Home Secretary Jacqui Smith.

"Today's proposals are part of the biggest changes to British immigration policy in a generation, which includes a new deal for those migrants seeking citizenship here, a new UK Border Agency to strengthen controls at the border and the introduction of ID cards for foreign nationals," she added.

Subsequent levels of the new system will cover skilled people with job offers and temporary workers allowed to stay for a limited period of time.

It has been specified by the Home Office that companies intending to bring in foreign workers from autumn will require licenses from the Border and Immigration Agency (BIA).

Students who come to study in universities will be brought under the new regulations from next year but a date has yet to be decided for the admission of low skilled workers, a step which would effect a large number of people from poorer countries.

The government also gave a stern warning to employers who consciously hire illegal immigrants. Such practices from now on will invite an unlimited fine and a jail sentence for two years.

The points regime exempts workers from the European Union and the new Eastern European member states.


Güncelleme Tarihi: 29 Şubat 2008, 18:28