10 killed in Bangladesh election violence

10 people were killed by police firing in polls-related violence in the country’s 10th parliamentary elections.

10 killed in Bangladesh election violence
World Bulletin / News Desk

At least 10 opposition activists were killed by police firing in polls-related violence in the country’s 10th parliamentary elections which continues amid low turnout of voters as main opposition BNP led 18 party alliance has boycotted the elections in Bangladesh.

The voting started at 8.00am and will continue till 4.00pm without any break.

Visiting different polling centers including Mirpur Adarsha School, RK Chowdhury University College and Soroj International School center in capital city of Dhaka, the Anadolu Agency has found low turnout of the voters in first four hours of voting.

Only 12 people cast votes at Mirpur Adarsah School whose total number of voters is about twenty five thousand, in Dhaka.

In Soroj International School center under Dhaka-5 constituencies, the voter turnout was very thin. The presence of media workers was higher than the voters in the center in the first two hours. Only 9 votes were cast in the center till 9.00am.

Voting at 234 centers of 17 constituencies in 16 districts has been postponed due to attacks by miscreants during the last night.

The opposition alliance is boycotting the one-sided election with its demand for a non-party neutral government to oversee the national election.

More than 130 people have been killed across Bangladesh in election related violence since Election Commission Bangladesh announced the 10th national parliamentary election schedule on November 5, 2013.

More than half of a total of 92 million voters in the country were not able to exercise their voting rights in Sunday’s 10th parliamentary elections because of 153 MP elected unopposed and unilateral polls.

About seven registered political parties which are pro-ruling party Bangladesh Awami League out of 40 are contesting in the today’s elections.

Voting is held in 147 constituencies out of total of 300, as candidates in 153 seats have already been elected unopposed. All of the unopposed were elected from ruling coalition led by Awami League.

389 candidates are contesting in the 147 constituencies where 44 million voters are getting their chance to exercise their voting rights in today’s elections.

The numbers of polling centers in these constituencies is 18,209 and polling booths 91,213.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 05 Ocak 2014, 11:04