India calls meet with 7 states on Rohingya Muslims

The Indian government will convene on July 20 to discuss the Rohingya Muslims who are settling in Kashmir

India calls meet with 7 states on Rohingya Muslims

World Bulletin / News Desk

The Indian government will convene a meeting with 7 different states on July 20 as it is concerned with the arrival of more than 100,000 Rohingya Muslims who are settling in India including UP and Jammu and Kashmir, and will discuss “monitoring their activities given their vulnerablility to radicalisation.”

The meeting will be attended by Principal Secretaries (Home) of the states, will also take note of "alarming" development of Rohingya Muslims marrying Indian girls, especially in Jammu and Kashmir, a government official told PTI here. According to an initial estimate, there are around 1.3 lakh Rohingyas, mostly settled in Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh (mainly Hyderabad), Kerala, Assam, Jammu and Kashmir and Delhi.

Rohingya Muslims have been entering India through the porous Indo-Bangladesh border. Many of them have secured identity cards given to refugees and asylum seekers by UN Refugee agency UNHCR, making it difficult for authorities to deport them immediately even if caught.

According to an article in Greater Kashmir, the Home Ministry had been informed by security agencies last year about interception of a group of Rohingyas at the Indo-Bangladesh border in Tripura among whom there was a Kashmiri man.

"That Kashmiri man told officials that Rohingya Muslims were settling in Jammu and Kashmir and even marrying Kashmiri girls, which is an alarming development," the official said. 

Güncelleme Tarihi: 08 Temmuz 2015, 15:07