New Kyrgyz cabinet sworn in

New coalition sworn in after former government's collapse in mid-March.

New Kyrgyz cabinet sworn in

World Bulletin / News Desk

Kyrgyzstan's new coalition government was sworn in Wednesday after gaining a vote of confidence in parliament last week.

The swearing-in ceremony of the Cabinet members, headed by Prime Minister Joomart Otorbaev, was attended by President Almazbek Atambayev.

In his first meeting with his Cabinet ministers, Otorbaev referred to a decline in tax collection rates for the first three months of this year, and dismissed Prime Ministry Tax Services head and former Kyrgyz Communist Party leader Isaac Masaliyev.

Kyrgyzstan’s three-party coalition government collapsed on March 19 when a partner withdrew from the government.

The government, which had been formed in September 2012, fell when "Ata Meken" (Fatherland) Party withdrew from the coalition, citing a "loss of trust" in former prime minister Zhantoro Satybaldiyev.

A new coalition was formed on March 31 between the Social-Democrat Party, Ata Meken Party and Ar-Namis Party.

The former government was the longest-standing one since the violent uprising in April 2010.

The president called on the parties to start a probe into the corruption allegations that had undermined Satybaldiyev's administration.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 09 Nisan 2014, 14:00