S.Korea replaces PM, some ministers in reshuffle

South Korean President Lee Myung-bak has named former provincial governor Kim Tae-ho as his new prime minister as part of a Cabinet reshuffle.

S.Korea replaces PM, some ministers in reshuffle

South Korea Sunday replaced the prime minister and seven other ministers in the biggest cabinet reshuffle since President Lee Myung-Bak came to power in February 2008, the presidential office said.

The nominee for new prime minister is Kim Tae-Ho, former governor of South Gyeongsang province in the southeast of the country.

The presidential office also announced new ministers for education (Lee Joo-Ho); culture (Shin Jae-Min); agriculture (Yoo Jeong-Bok); the knowledge economy ministry (Lee Jae-Hoon); health (Jin Soo-Hee); labour (Park Jae-Wan) and special affairs (Lee Jae-Oh).

The reshuffle comes amid tension with North Korea over Seoul's massive naval drills off the west coast, including spots near the two Koreas' disputed sea border.


Güncelleme Tarihi: 08 Ağustos 2010, 09:43