ECO declaration issued in Istanbul

Ten member and guest countries including Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Iraq, Qatar, Jordan, Lebanon and Syria attended the summit.

ECO declaration issued in Istanbul

Istanbul Declaration was issued at the end of the 11th Summit of ECO Heads of State and Government.

The declaration included measures and initiatives calling on member countries to have closer cooperation in economy.

It said heads of state and government who attended the summit convened in Istanbul to assess important global and regional matters and current situation in ECO.

Underscoring the importance of achieving the targets in Izmir agreement, the declaration urged the member countries to ensure a more developed economic cooperation, upgrade their living standards, prosperity and sustainable development.

The declaration referred to the damages caused by clashes and problems on peace, stability and security in ECO region, and underlined the importance of territorial integrity and international law to resolve the clashes in question.

The declaration said global economic crisis had a negative impact on economic development in the region, and the member countries decided for collaboration to ease the negative impacts of the crisis.

The declaration also referred to the target of establishing Free Trade Zone, included in ECO 2015 Vision Statement, noting that this prosperity and sustainable development would prevail in ECO region in case this target is fulfilled.

Istanbul Declaration focused on ensuring energy security and close cooperation on the matter and also touched on global matters like climate change and food security.

The declaration called on non-member countries to sign the agreements that were opened to signature and included some projects and initiatives to make ECO stronger.

The member countries reaffirmed their commitments to fulfill 2015 Vision Statement and referred to the importance of signing of ECO Trade Agreement (ECOTA) by all
member states.

The declaration referred to the importance of trade among the member countries and said technical impediments and restrictions preventing free trade should be removed.

Istanbul Declaration eulogized financial means put into force by ECO Trade and Development Bank aiming to support member countries and underlined importance of inclusion of all the member countries to the bank.

Emphasizing the importance of boosting transportation network, the declaration said cargo train project initiated in August 2010 in Islamabad-Tehran-Istanbul route was successful, noting such a route would be implemented between Istanbul and Almaty in 2011.

The statement also focused on importance given to re-construction of Afghanistan and role of ECO. The declaration eulogized contributions of Turkey, Azerbaijan, Iran and Pakistan to this country.

In the declaration, ECO was recommended to boost relations with the UN and some international organizations.

The statement also expressed feelings of solidarity with the people of Palestine who have to live under severe economic conditions.

The participating countries adopted proposal of Turkey to establish Wise Men Group to pursue ECO 2015 Vision statement.

The heads of state and government underlined importance of fight against terrorism and condemned very kind of terrorism which pose a very big threat to peace and tranquility.

Ten member and guest countries including Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC), Iraq, Qatar, Jordan, Lebanon and Syria attended the summit.

Some of the leaders participating in the summit are Afghan President Hamid Karzai, Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev, Iranian President Mahmud Ahmadi-Nejad, Kyrgyz President Roza Otunbaeva, Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari and Tajik President Emomoli Rahman.

Turkey took over ECO rotating presidency from Iran during the summit.

ECO is an intergovernmental regional organization established in 1985 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey for the purpose of promoting economic, technical and cultural cooperation among the Member States.

In 1992, the Organization was expanded to include seven new members, Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Republic of Uzbekistan.

ECO aims to boost cultural, commercial and economic cooperation among its members, and it also targets at establishing a free trade zone by 2015.


Last Mod: 24 Aralık 2010, 11:59
Add Comment