Turkish businessmen demand more visa removals

Turkey currently has visa exemption agreements with a total of 61 countries and special administrative regions.

Turkish businessmen demand more visa removals

Turkish businessmen are expecting EU-members states and countries in North Africa and the Gulf region to put an end to visa procedures for Turkish citizens.

Thanks to intense diplomatic efforts and Turkey's zero-problem policy with its neighbors in the recent term, the number of countries which do not require visas from Turkish citizens has risen up to 61, officials told AA on Sunday.

Mehmet Buyukeksi, the head of Turkish Exporters' Assembly (TIM), said that visa exemptions had positive reflections in Turkey's foreign trade.

Noting that visa exemption was of great importance for businessmen travelling frequently to hold bilateral talks and to visit fairs, Buyukeksi said, "a significant number of producers who had not previously thought about carrying out exports activities now started to deal with exports as travelling is much easier".

Pointing to EU's visa procedures against Turkish citizens, Buyukeksi said, "our products move freely in Europe, but our businessmen cannot".

Buyukeksi said that talks were being held on such issue currently, adding the problem should be solved as soon as possible.

"At least our businessmen should have the right to free movement in Europe," he said.

In an interview with AA, chairperson Sukru Kocoglu of Turkish Employers' Association of Construction Industries (INTES) also said that lifting of visas would provide Turkish businessmen with important advantages.

Kocoglu said his association wanted the visa procedures with the EU, Gulf countries and North Africa to be terminated.

Turkey currently has visa exemption agreements with a total of 61 countries and special administrative regions.

These are Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Albania, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Ecuador, El Salvador, Morocco, Fiji, Philippines, Guatemala, South Africa, Georgia, Haiti, Croatia, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iran, Jamaica, Japan, Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Colombia, South Korea, Kosovo, Qatar, Costa Rica, Libya, Lebanon, Macau, Macedonia, Maldives, Malaysia, Mauritius, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Palau, Paraguay, Russia, St. Vincent-Grenadines, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Syria, Swaziland, Chile, Thailand, Trinidad-Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Uruguay, Jordan and Venezuela.


Güncelleme Tarihi: 04 Temmuz 2010, 12:44