EU sanctions Russians over gas-turbine deal in Crimea

EU Council issues asset freeze, travel bans on three Russian individuals, companies 

EU sanctions Russians over gas-turbine deal in Crimea

World Bulletin / News Desk

The European Union on Friday added a number of Russian individuals and companies to a sanctions list for supplying equipment to projects in occupied parts of Ukraine.

Three Russian nationals and three companies were involved in the transfer of gas turbines to Crimea, an EU Council statement claimed.

Their involvement prompted the EU to apply "restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining Ukraine's territorial integrity, sovereignty, and independence."

"As part of its non-recognition policy, the Council has prohibited the supply of key equipment for infrastructure projects in Crimea and Sevastopol in important sectors, including gas turbines in the energy sector," the statement read. 

"These sanctions consist of an asset freeze and a travel ban which will now apply to a total of 153 persons and 40 entities while the measures were introduced in March 2014 and were last extended in March 2017 until 15 Sept. 2017," the EU Council added.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 04 Ağustos 2017, 17:43