Pope says to create 19 cardinals next month

They are from Italy, Germany, Britain, Nicaragua, Canada, Ivory Coast, Brazil, Argentina, South Korea, Chile, Burkina Faso, the Philippines and Haiti.

Pope says to create 19 cardinals next month

World Bulletin/News Desk

Pope Francis said on Sunday he will next month elevate 19 prelates to the rank of cardinal, his first appointments to the elite group of men who advise him, including 16 who can one day elect his successor.

Sixteen of the new cardinals are under 80 and are "cardinal electors", meaning they can enter a conclave to choose a new pope after his death or resignation.

They are from Italy, Germany, Britain, Nicaragua, Canada, Ivory Coast, Brazil, Argentina, South Korea, Chile, Burkina Faso, the Philippines and Haiti.

Only four of the cardinal electors are Vatican officials, chief among them Archbishop Pietro Parolin, Francis's new secretary of state, and Archbishop Mueller, the head of the Vatican's doctrinal congregation.

The most prominent elector from Europe is Archbishop Vincent Nichols, the Archbishop of Westminster in London and the main link between Catholicism and the Anglican Church.

The remainder of the electors are from dioceses around the world. Four are from Latin America, including Archbishop Aurelio Poli, Francis's successor in the Argentine capital.

Two are from Africa and two are from Asia.

The three over 80, who will assume the title cardinal emeritus and will not be able to enter a conclave, come from Spain, Italy and the Caribbean island nation of Saint Lucia.

The ceremony to elevate the new cardinals, known as consistory, will be held on Feb. 22, the pope said.

The following will be cardinals with voting rights:

1. Archbishop Pietro Parolin, Italian, Vatican Secretary of State.

2. Archbishop Lorenzo Baldisseri, Italian, secretary general of the Synod of Bishops.

3. Archbishop Gerhard Ludwig Muller, German, head of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

4. Archbishop, Beniamino Stella, Italian, head of the Vatican's Congregation for the Clergy.

5. Archbishop Vincent Nichols, British, Archbishop of Westminster.

6. Archbishop Leopoldo José Brenes Solórzano, Nicaraguan, Archbishop of Managua.

7. Archbishop Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, Canadian, Archbishop of Quebec.

8. Archbishop Jean-Pierre Kutwa, Ivorian, Archbishop of Abidjan

9. Archbishop Orani João Tempesta, Brazilian, Archbishop of Rio de Janeiro.

10. Archbishop Gualtiero Bassetti, Italian, Archbishop of Perugia.

11. Archbishop Mario Aurelio Poli, Argentine, Archbishop of Buenos Aires.

12. Archbishop Andrew Yeom Soo Jung, Korean, Archbishop of Seoul.

13. Archbishop Ricardo Ezzati Andrello, Chilean, Archbishop of Santiago.

14. Archbishop Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo, from Burkina Faso, Archbishop of Ouagadougou

15. Archbishop Orlando B. Quevedo, Filipino, Archbishop of Cotabato.

16. Archbishop Chibly Langlois, Haitian, Archbishop of Les Cayes.

The following will be cardinal emeritus, without voting rights:

1. Monsignor Loris Francesco Capovilla, Italian, who was secretary to Pope John XXIII, who reigned from 1958-1963 and called the Second Vatican Council.

2. Archbishop Fernando Sebastián Aguilar, Spanish, Archbishop emeritus of Pamplona.

3. Monsignor Kelvin Edward Felix, from Saint Lucia, Archbishop emeritus of Castries.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 12 Ocak 2014, 14:34