Russia's new maritime doctrine 'to counter NATO's expansion'

Russia adopts amendments to 2001 maritime doctrine, focusing on annexed Crimea and the Arctic

Russia's new maritime doctrine 'to counter NATO's expansion'

World Bulletin / News Desk

Changes to Russia's Maritime Doctrine are caused by NATO's "eastward" expansion, said Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin. The new doctrine focuses on Russia's naval presence in occupied Crimea and the Arctic. 

"Changes of international affairs" and "consolidation of Russia as a maritime power" are the main reasons for the doctrine of 2001 to be amended, continued Rogozin. 

The revised document published the same day highlights Russia’s naval presence in the Atlantic and the Arctic, he said. "Attention to the Atlantic stems from NATO's active development and the alliance approaching our borders," he explained.

"The second consideration is Crimea's and Sevastopol’s rejoining Russia and the task of their swiftest integration into the economic life of our country. And of course we have to resume the presence of our fleet in the Mediterranean."

Rogozin also stressed the importance of Russia’s role in the Arctic and the "growing importance of the Northern sea route," which in turn requires the updating of the nuclear-powered icebreaker fleet.

He noted that Russia has already launched the construction of a new nuclear icebreaker fleet adding that three units will start their operations by 2017, 2019, 2020, accordingly.

"In addition, Russia the Arctic grants easy unlimited access to the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. And of course, it is the richness of the continental shelf that requires careful attention in its development."

Maritime Doctrine covers four functional and six regional areas. The four functional areas include naval activity, maritime transport, marine science and the development of mineral resources. The six regional areas are the Atlantic, the Arctic, the Pacific, the Caspian Sea, the Indian Ocean and Antarctica.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 27 Temmuz 2015, 10:03