Southeast Europe states to establish assembly

Work is underway for assembly with five parliamentarians from each country, a Turkish MP says.

Southeast Europe states to establish assembly

Efforts to form a joint parliamentary assembly for countries in the southern Europe and Balkans are in progress, Justice and Development (AK) Party MP Rifat Sait has told the Anadolu Agency.

Members of South-East European Cooperation Process (SEECP) agreed in May to create an inter-parliamentary assembly, where each state will be represented with five members of their respective national parliaments.

Member states agreed to hold parliamentary sessions of the new assembly once a year, presided by the current chair country of SEECP, the news website of Balkan Investigative Reporting Network (BIRN) says.

Between sessions, a permanent committee will be in charge of managing affairs, it says.

SEECP was launched in 1996 on Bulgaria's initiative. It has the unique characteristic among its members of being a self-initiated program, rather than being part of an international organization.

It currently has twelve members: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Moldova, Montenegro, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Turkey.


Güncelleme Tarihi: 29 Temmuz 2013, 17:10