Curfews declared in 13 southeastern Turkey villages

Affected villages are located in Diyarbakir province

Curfews declared in 13 southeastern Turkey villages

World Bulletin / News Desk

Curfews were declared in 13 villages in the southeastern Diyarbakir province early Thursday, according to the regional governor's office.

Security forces will locate and destroy explosive devices planted by the PKK terror group in villages in the Lice and Hani districts during the curfew, the office said a statement.

The statement did not provide a deadline for the curfew.

The PKK -- listed as a terror organization by Turkey, the U.S., and EU -- resumed its armed campaign in July 2015 and since then has been responsible for the deaths of around 1,100 security personnel and civilians, including women and children.

Güncelleme Tarihi: 12 Ocak 2017, 09:43