Fenerbahce win Turkish Cup for first time in 29 years

With today's result, Fenerbahce won the 50th cup in the history of the Turkey Cup.

Fenerbahce win Turkish Cup for first time in 29 years

World Bulletin / News Desk

Fenerbahce trounced Bursapor 4-0 to win the Turkish Cup for the first time in 29 years on Wednesday, gaining some consolation for finishing runners-up in the league to Galatasaray.

Just two minutes into the game in Ankara, Fenerbahce went ahead with their first attack as captain Alex de Souza, who was involved in all the goals, delivered a killer pass for Caner Erkin to score with ease.

Fenerbahce racked up several more chances, including one effort disallowed for offside, before Cristian Baroni unleashed a fierce strike from outside the box.

Bursapor were unable to break Fenerbahce's dominance in the second half, and Brazilian Alex crossed for Semih Senturk to slot home a third from close range.

Senturk then turned provider for Alex to finish off a counter-attack in the 78th minute that sealed the game.

Stadium: 19 Mayis

Referees: Bulent Yildirim, Cem Satman, Ekrem Kan

Bursaspor: Carson, Basser, Ibrahim, Serdar, Vederson, Sestak (Mn. 71 Okan), N'Diaye (Mn. 63 Turgay), Adem (Mn. 56 Musa), Ozan, Batalla, Pinto

Fenerbahce: Volkan, Gokhan (Mn. 58 Orhan), Bekir, Yobo (Mn. 30 Serdar), Ziegler, Mehmet, Baroni, Emre, Caner, Alex (Mn. 81 Sow), Semih

Goals: Mn. 2 Caner, Mn. 45 Baroni, Mn. 58 Semih, Mn. 78 Alex (Fenerbahce)

Yellow Cards: Mn. 45 Baroni, Mn. 73 Emre (Fenerbahce), Mn. 53 Basser, Mn. 61 Vederson, Mn. 66 Pinto, Mn. 83 Musa (Bursaspor)


Güncelleme Tarihi: 17 Mayıs 2012, 09:25