Turkey: Curfews declared in 9 southeastern villages

Affected villages are located in Mardin province

Turkey: Curfews declared in 9 southeastern villages

World Bulletin / News Desk

Curfews were imposed in nine villages in the southeastern Mardin province early Sunday, according to the regional governor's office.

Security forces will locate and destroy explosive devices planted by the PKK terrorist group in the villages in Nusaybin, Omerli and Artuklu districts during the curfew, the office said in a statement.

The statement did not say when the curfew would end, mentioning it would last until further notice.

More than 1,200 people, including security force personnel and civilians, have lost their lives since the PKK -- listed as a terrorist organization by Turkey, the U.S., and EU -- resumed its decades-old armed campaign in July 2015.


Güncelleme Tarihi: 12 Şubat 2017, 11:21