35 leading Ikhwan face travel bans

The number of Muslim Brotherhood leaders who facing a travel ban has risen to 35 in Egypt after the coup.

35 leading Ikhwan face travel bans

World Bulletin/News Desk

The number of leaders of Muslim Brotherhood (Ikhwan) who will face a travel ban has risen to 35.

Egyptian judicial authorities have officially decided to include ousted President Mohamed Morsi, several leading figures of the Muslim Brotherhood and the Wasat Party on a travel ban list and those will be questioned next Monday on charges of insulting the judiciary.

Following the military interference in the Egyptian government, the prosecution issued warrants of arrest for the members of the Muslim Brotherhood.

Chief Prosecutor Abdul Majid Mahmoud put a ban on 35 people inluding Egypt's Morsi.

The travel bans apply to Morsi, Muslim Brotherhood former guide Mahdi Akef, Chairman of the Muslim Brotherhood’s Freedom and Justice Party (FJP) Saad el-Katatni, and al-Wasat Party Deputy Chairman Essam Soltan.

Also banned from leaving the country are leading Muslim Brotherhood figures Gamal Gebril, Taher Abdel Mohsen, Mohammad el-Beltagui and Sobhi Saleh.

The Egyptian prosecution had earlier issued warrant arrest for 20 leading names of Muslim Brotherhood and 500 members of the Brotherhood were taken into the "wanted" list.

Prior to the 2011 Egyptian Revolution which toppled Mubarak, the Muslim Brotherhood had been outlawed and persecuted for six decades. 

Güncelleme Tarihi: 05 Temmuz 2013, 10:58