Yemen committee approves establishing 6 regions

Yemen committee has approved a plan dividing the country into six regions.

Yemen committee approves establishing 6 regions

World Bulletin / News Desk

A 23-member committee headed by Yemeni President Abd Rabbuh Mansur Hadi has approved a plan dividing the country into six regions within a federal state, the state-run Saba news agency reported on Monday.

According to the new scheme, the agency said, northern Yemen will be partitioned into four regions, while the south will be split into two.

The southern regions will be Hadhramaut, with the city of Al-Mukalla as its capital, and Aden, with Aden city as its capital.

Sabaa, Al-Jund, Azaal and Tihamah will be the northern regions, with Sabaa, Taizz, Sanaa and Al-Hudaydah as their respective regional capitals.

Committee member Sultan al-Atwani told Anadolu Agency that the scheme had been approved by all committee members, except one representing the Shiite Houthi group.

Al-Atwani did not, however, give the reason for the Houthis' rejection of the proposal.

Last month, President Hadi named the committee members, who represent all the parties and forces in Yemen's National Dialogue Conference.

The committee was tasked with coming up with a new administrative partition scheme for the country.

At the time, Hadi had asserted that the new divisions would be enshrined in the country's new constitution, which has yet to be drafted.

Last Mod: 10 Şubat 2014, 16:53
Add Comment