Turkey's Davutoglu announces new cabinet -UPDATED

Turkey's new Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu has formed a new government on his first day on the job.

Turkey's Davutoglu announces new cabinet -UPDATED

World Bulletin / News Desk

Turkey's first popularly elected president, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, has assigned new Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu to form the country's 62nd government.

The cabinet has gone largely unchanged with most ministers keeping their jobs. Deputy Prime Minister Besir Atalay is the most notable name missing from the new cabinet. He was replaced by the ruling AK Party's deputy chairman Numan Kurtulmus. Another Deputy Prime Minister, Emrullah Isler, was also replaced by Yalcin Akdogan.

Prime Minister Davutoglu chose EU minister Mevlut Cavusoglu to take his place in the vacant Foreign Minister position. Meanwhile, Tuırkish diplomat Volkan Bozkir entered the cabinet as a new name to represent the country to the EU.

Nurettin Canikli also replaced outgoing Hayati Yazici as the Customs and Trade Minister.

Contrary to speculation, Faruk Celik remained as Labor and Social Security Minister despite reports that he had emptied his office earlier in the day. Faruk Celik had come under fire after a mine disaster in Soma, Manisa, claimed the lives of 301 miners this summer.

Besir Atalay, a former deputy prime minister who had helped oversee the peace process, loses his job in the new cabinet but Akdogan will take over his role on the Kurdish issue, officials said, and act as a bridge between Erdogan and the cabinet.

"Akdogan may be a critical channel for establishing the link between the presidential office and the government, given that Erdogan wants to maintain an active political position," said Ilter Turan, professor of political science at Bilgi University.

Davutoglu, who had been serving as foreign minister since 2009, was elected chairman of the ruling Justice and Development Party at an extraordinary congress Thursday and became, de facto, prime minister.

Davutoglu becomes the second chairman of the AK Party succeeding Erdogan, who had been party leader for 15 years.

Turkey's 12th president, Erdogan, was elected on August 10, garnering around 52 percent of the vote. He was sworn in Thursday.

"The doors of Great Turkey have been opened," the main headline in the newspaper Sabah said on Friday, praising the transfer of power along with other pro-government newspapers.

Victory in Turkey's first popular presidential election this month gave a him a fresh mandate to push on with what he sees as a historic mission to transform Turkey domestically and as a regional power.

Erdogan has made clear he plans to establish an executive presidential system, expanding the role's current powers.

Turkey's new cabinet is as follows:

Four deputy prime ministers - Yalcin Akdogan, Ali Babacan, Numan Kurtulmus, Bulent Arınc
Foreign Minister - Mevlut Cavusoglu
Interior Minister - Efkan Ala
Justice Minister - Bekir Bozdag
Finance Minister - Mehmet Simsek
Economy Minister - Nihat Zeybekci
Energy and Natural Resources Minister - Taner Yildiz
Defense Minister - Ismet Yilmaz
Family and Social Policies Minister - Aysenur Islam
EU Minister - Volkan Bozkir
Science, Industry and Technology Minister - Fikri Isik
Labor and Social Security Minister - Faruk Celik
Environment and Urban Planning Minister - Idris Gulluce
Youth and Sports Minister - Akif Cagatay Kilic
Food, Agriculture and Livestock Minister - Mehdi Eker
Customs and Trade Minister - Nurettin Canikli
Development Minister - Cevdet Yilmaz
Culture and Tourism Minister - Omer Celik
Education Minister - Nabi Avci
Forestry and Water Affairs Minister - Veysel Eroglu
Health Minister - Mehmet Muezzinoglu
Transportation, Maritime Affairs and Communication Minister - Lutfi Elvan

Güncelleme Tarihi: 29 Ağustos 2014, 15:08