Ruling party to announce 20 mayoral candidates

Erdogan to announce names for Ankara and Izmir on Tuesday

Ruling party to announce 20 mayoral candidates

The Turkish president and leader of ruling Justice and Development (AK) Party will announce on Tuesday 20 more mayoral candidates for the upcoming local elections.

The names of candidates for 10 metropolitan municipalities and 10 provincial municipalities will be revealed at the party's parliamentary group meeting in capital Ankara.

President Recep Tayyip Erdogan will also announce the mayoral candidates of Ankara and Izmir.

The candidates for Balikesir, Trabzon, Eskisehir, Hatay, Konya, Mardin, Mugla, Sakarya, Afyonkarahisar, Bingol, Canakkale, Cankiri, Corum, Karaman, Mus, Usak, Yozgat and Sivas will be announced.

The candidate for Istanbul will not be revealed on Tuesday, however Parliament Speaker Binali Yildirim is top contender for the spot.

On Saturday, Erdogan announced the list of 40 mayoral candidates including 14 metropolitan municipalities and 26 provincial municipalities.

The local elections in Turkey are scheduled on March 31, 2019.