European Parliament ends visa free entry for Americans

Europe ends visa free entry for Americans

European Parliament ends visa free entry for Americans

World Bulletin / News Desk

The European Union Parliament wants to reinstate visas for Americans traveling into the 28-nation bloc, arguing that the U.S. still requires citizens of five E.U. member nations to apply for an entry visa.

“The EU Commission is legally obliged to take measures temporarily reintroducing visa requirements for US citizens, given that Washington still does not grant visa-free access to nationals of five EU countries,” the parliament said in a statement.

According to the committee, the United States refuses visa-free travel to citizens of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania – while EU rules grant US travellers unfettered entry.

The other 23 EU countries can enter the United States under the US’ Visa Waiver Programme.

The committee’s vote is largely a tit-for-tat measure against the United States for not liberalising its visa requirements despite EU officials warning Washington it was not complying with its visa reciprocity agreement.

The vote urges the revocation of the scheme within two months, meaning Americans will have to apply for extra documents for 12 months after the European Commission implements a “delegated act” to bring the change into effect.



Güncelleme Tarihi: 04 Mart 2017, 13:21